Classes / Workshops

Upcoming Workshops

EndNote: Managing Your Bibliographies

This hands-on session introduces the essential features of EndNote, a bibliographic management program that allows you to save and organize references from your online literature searches, create bibliographies and cite references in your word-processing document.

EndNote sessions will be given on the following dates. Please note that registration is not required but is highly recommended as seating is limited.

Date: Wednesday, December 12, 2018 from 2:30pm-4:00pm
Location: Medical Library, Montreal General Hospital (E6-157)

Date: Thursday, December 20, 2018 from 2:00pm-3:30pm
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Date: Wednesday, January 9, 2019 from 10:00am-11:30am – Macs session*
Location: Medical Library, Montreal General Hospital (E6-157)

Date: Tuesday, January 15, 2019 from 10:00am-11:30am (French session)
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Date: Wednesday, January 23, 2019 from 2:00pm-3:30pm
Location: Medical Library, Montreal General Hospital (E6-157)

Date: Wednesday, January 30, 2019 from 2:00pm-3:30pm
Location: De Grandpré Communications Centre (Brain Tumor Research Centre), Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital

Date: Thursday, January 31, 2019 from 2:00pm-3:30pm
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Date: Tuesday, February 5, 2019 from 2:00pm-3:30pm (French session)
Location: Medical Library, Montreal General Hospital (E6-157)

Date: Wednesday, February 13, 2019 from 9:30am-11:00am – Macs session*
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Date: Thursday, February 14, 2019 from 2:00pm-3:30pm
Location: Medical Library, Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital (room 282)

Date: Thursday, February 21, 2019 from 2:00pm-3:30pm
Location: Medical Library, Montreal General Hospital (E6-157)

Date: Tuesday, February 26, 2019 from 10:00am-11:30am
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Register for a workshop

* This training session is intended for Mac users. Please bring your own laptop to the session and make sure that EndNote is properly installed.

Searching the biomedical literature

Stop searching and start finding. Learn to convert your question into an effective search strategy and to find relevant articles on your topic. Workshops are offered for Medline via Ovid or PubMed. Both workshops are designed for health professionals with little previous experience in literature searching.

For more information on the differences between Medline via Ovid or via PubMed, please consult our “Medline via Ovid or via PubMed?” guide.

PubMed Essentials

Date: Friday, December 14, 2018 from 1:30pm-3:30pm
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Date: Wednesday, January 16, 2019 from 2:00pm-4:00pm
Location: Medical Library, Montreal General Hospital (E6-157)

Date: Tuesday, January 22, 2019 from 1:30pm-3:30pm
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Date: Wednesday, January 23, 2019 from 2:00pm-4:00pm
Location: De Grandpré Communications Centre (Brain Tumor Research Centre), Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital

Date: Tuesday, February 12, 2019 from 2:00pm-4:00pm
Location: Medical Library, Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital (room 282)

Date: Friday, February 15, 2019 from 9:30am-11:30am
Location: Medical Library, Montreal General Hospital (E6-157)

Date: Wednesday, February 20, 2019 from 2:30pm-4:30pm
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Register for a workshop


Essential Medline via Ovid

Date: Tuesday, January 8, 2019 from 10:00am-12:00pm
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Date: Tuesday, January 29, 2019 from 1:00pm-3:00pm
Location: Medical Library, Montreal General Hospital (E6-157)

Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2019 from 10:00am-12:00pm
Location: McConnell Resource Centre, Glen Site (Room B RC 0078.2)

Date: Wednesday, February 27, 2019 from 1:00pm-3:00pm
Location: Medical Library, Montreal General Hospital (E6-157)

Register for a workshop